Hootch

 img_04822img_04802

When I was home on leave, everyone but everyone wanted to know about my living arrangements in Afghanistan.  Always eager to please, I’ve attached a couple of pictures of my hootch.  It’s better and bigger than most billets on my FOB; most of the others are open-bay barracks divided by plywood partitions into individual rooms.  I share a bathroom with my sergeant major, and we also share a small common area that contains a refrigerator and TV, neither of which we use much.  I have commercial Internet service in my room:  $75 a month, slower than dial-up.   When it rains hard, which it does surprisingly often here, the room floods with about two inches of water.

2 Responses to “Hootch”

  1. Chris Brown Says:

    Hey Pete,

    I’m sorry your leave was so short. I’m going to a conference next week, and I was going to send you a post card. I’ll do it anyway–something to look forward to when you’re on leave again!

    I was surprised by your pictures. For some reason, I assumed that you and your troops lived in communal tents like in M*A*S*H*, or set up one-person tents with sleeping bags inside. Shows you what I know about military bivouacs–zilch! Until now!

    I’ll have to add “stay dry” to my usual “stay safe”!

    Best,
    Chris

  2. Chris Brown Says:

    Hey Pete,

    I looked you up to find out the latest in your continuing saga–or should I say, “bloga”?–and I found a review you did a couple of years ago. Good job on Buda’s Wagon!

    Best,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

