Ben the Plumber

I saw this truck in Indianapolis.

I took this picture in Indianapolis.

Benjamin Franklin lurks in my family tree six generations back on my mother’s side.  The family flame burns dimmer these days, but the legacy keeps me alert to things like the truck pictured above.  At age 50, Franklin traveled with the local militia into northeast Pennsylvania to fight Indians.  I don’t know if he had any close calls with death, but the Autobiography describes sleeping on the ground for two months in the late winter until the uprising ended.  Now 50 myself, I’m sure that couldn’t have been easy.
                                                                                                                                                                     Home on leave this week.  Back in Kansas next.  Deployment soon after.
 
  
3 Responses to “Ben the Plumber”

  1. Chris Brown Says:

    Interesting genealogy, Pete!

    I will never look at these two quotations by Ben Franklin in the same way:

    “Drive thy business or it will drive thee.”

    “You may delay, but time will not.”

    Best and be safe,
    Chris

  2. http://www.lutonlocal.com Says:

    Really interesting, wish I was related to someone as important!

  3. Peter Molin Says:

    Thanks Chris, thanks “lutonlocal.”

Leave a Reply

