There

This post will excite some, scare others. 

In the Army, we often say that you shouldn’t say or do anything that you wouldn’t want to see reported on the front page of the New York Times.  That rule generally applies to moral improprieties or to saying something politically stupid, but let’s relate it to my current adventure.  Within 24 hours of hitting Afghanistan, I was pretty darn close to the middle of events that broke the rule to pieces.  As I was moving to the Forward Operating Base (“FOB”) to which I’ll be assigned, insurgents attacked a second base through which I was traveling with suicide bombers and probes of the perimeter.  The action went on for about 24 hours, and was not over until helicopter gunships blasted the remnants of the insurgents less than a mile outside the fence.  Read about it here, if the embedded link works:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/20/world/asia/20afghan.html?_r=1&hp&oref=slogin

And don’t believe the Taliban hype in the article.  It was a dangerous attack, and could have been even more so, but it was competently beat back by the US and Afghan forces who responded. 

So, I’m all safe for now, and heading back home later today.  I’ll post more about what I saw over here later, as well as some pictures.  Suffice to say that morale among the soldiers I’ve met and observed is sky high–from what I’ve seen competence, courage, and cheerfulness reign.

3 Responses to “There”

  1. pedaldrive Says:

    I had read about that attack, and wondered if you were near it. What does a LtCol. who is just passing through do in a situation like that? With no body directly below you or above you.

    Anyway, sounds like fun. Has the sleep deprivation started yet?

  2. John Says:

    Pete: Thanks for the updates & for the work that you are doing for the Afghans. I’ve been reading about the attack you mention in this posting. It certainly sounds intense and disturbingly choreographed. Stay safe over there. I’m glad to read that the morale truly is high among the deployed soldiers.

  3. Peter Molin Says:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

